Read “The Hunger Games” — the book by Suzanne Collins

Image

When I was a regular on “Multiply.Com”, after Yahoo Blogs closed down, I started to rate all of the weekend movies I saw. but then Multiply turned into a different kind of place and I stopped my regular movie posts and came here to WordPress.Com

Friday night I went to the 10 pm Imax showing of “The Hunger Games” the movie and decided to share the fact the the BOOK is tremendous! The movie is o.k. I had purchased my ticket ahead of time at Fandango.com, just in case. That turned out to be the right thing today since even though I arrived at the theater early, there were already about 70 folks already in line. It was reminiscent of when I went to see the last Harry Potter movie.

When I read and heard about the hoopla surrounding this movie last week I decided to see for myself what all of the fuss was about. Turns out is was a 2008 “Young Adult” Science Fiction/Romance novel written by Suzanne Collins.

Lately I have been extremely busy at work and too tired to read in the evenings after my daily commute — so I decided to make my commute work for me and give up Howard Stern for a week to listen to the audio version of the “Hunger Games Trilogy”.

I managed to complete the first book of the series by listening Monday through Thursday during my morning and evening commutes and lunch hours. The book was tremendous!

It was for the best that I had chosen the the audio book version, because if I had opted for the book on my Nook ereader,  would have stayed up all night to the book in one sitting: it would have been too hard to put it down and not know what happens next.

I know that my contemporaries reading this  are certainly NOT young adults but I encourage them to give this book a read if you are a fan of Science Fiction. You won’t be sorry.

Have a great week ahead and Happy Reading!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Joyce Gavitt  On April 22, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    SUZANNE. ,

    As a teacher I am very upset and discussed with your book. I am almost finished with the first book and wanted to find out what kind of person you are so I went on line to find you. You appear sweet.. What you are writing is corruptive and totally influncing society in a negative way. I work with kids bullying each other every day. Thinking of kids trying to kill each other for survival is totally not RIGHT!! Your influence on society is scarry…your need to rethink your thoughts. I believe you have strenghts as a writer, just use it ina positive way. I can certainly help you in this. ….let’s get positive. Turn the page, Suzanne and lets a good book out for kids. I have a lot of experience in teaching kids , I would like your to keep life in a positve mode for kids.

    I have two kids, a daugher who was married in Turks and Caicos last June. My son is in his first year of college …now thinking of becoming a firefighter. My husband is a CPA and I teach 2nd grade.

    So….I am not a writer, however I think if yhou would like some insight into better writing,….I could help. I am not a writer, but i can concck some family stories for you. Of course the names would be changed.

    Joyce Gavitt
    Gav4s@aol.com

Leave a Reply

